• Club History
  • Offers
Club History
Leicester City History

Leicester City Football Club is an English professional football club based at the King Power Stadium in Leicester.

Also known as the Foxes, they compete in the English Premier League.

The club was founded in 1884 as Leicester Fosse FC, playing on a field near Fosse Road, before moving to Filbert Street in 1891.

They were elected to the Football League in 1894 and adopted the name Leicester City in 1919. In 2002, they relocated to the nearby Walkers Stadium, which was renamed King Power Stadium after a change of ownership in 2011.

Leicester were promoted to England’s highest division in football after winning the Football League Championship title in 2013-14, signaling their return to the top flight after 10 years of absence.

The Foxes stunned the football world after they won the 2015-16 EPL title, their first-top level football championship, becoming one of only six clubs to have won the league since its inauguration in 1992.

Their stunning win was described in various media outfits as ``the greatest sporting upset ever,’’ considering they were favourites to face relegation at the start of the season.

Before that unprecedented feat by the club, their previous highest ever finish was second place in the top flight, in Division One in 1928-29.

BBC named Leicester as Sports Personality Team of the Year in 2016.

Throughout their history, the Foxes have spent all but one season within the top two leagues of English football. They hold a joint-highest seven second-tier titles (six Second Division and one Championship).

Leicester made it to the finals of the FA Cup in 1948-49, 1960-61, 1962-63 and 1968-69, establishing a record for the most defeats in the final without having won the competition.

In addition, the Foxes have numerous promotions to their name, two play-off final wins, and one League One title.

They won the FA Community Shield in 1971 and were runners-up in 2016. They have also won the League Cup three times (1964, 1997 and 2000), as well as being runners up in 1964-65 and 1999.

In European football, the Foxes have competed in European football, during the 1961-62 European Cup Winners’ Cup, 1997-98 UEFA Cup, 2000-01 UEFA Cup and most recently the 2016-17 UEFA Champions League, where they reached the quarterfinals.

In the 2017-18 Premier League season, Leicester finished 9th out of the 20 participating clubs.

The current manager of the Foxes, who are owned by Thai businessman Vichai Srivaddhanaprabha, is Claude Puel.

English Premier League (Runners-up (1928-29), Champions (2015-16)
English Championship (Champions (1924-25, 1936-37, 1953-54, 1956-57, 1970-71, 1979-80 and 2013-14), Runners-up (1907-08, 2002-03), Play-off winners (1993-94, 1995-96)
Football League Cup (Winners (1963-64, 1996-97, 1999-2000), Runners-up (1964-65, 1998-99)
FA Charity Shield/FA Community Shield (Winners (1971), Runners-up (2016)
FA Cup (Runners-up (1948-49, 1960-61, 1962-63, 1968-69)
War League South (Champions (1942)
Football League War Cup (Winners (1941)
BBC Sports Personality Team of the Year (Winners (2016)
Join Now